Quit smoking guides

Nicotinell vs Nicorette: Which NRT Brand to Buy in 2026

Standing in a UK pharmacy aisle, the choice usually comes down to two boxes: Nicotinell vs Nicorette. Both sell nicotine replacement therapy (NRT), and both help with cravings. The differences that matter are practical ones: how many hours a patch is worn, which formats each brand sells, and what you pay. This guide compares what each brand states on its own pages and retailer listings we opened on October 4, 2026, and it is clear about what we could not check. For the American brand trio, see our comparison of the US patch brands.

Quick Answer: Nicotinell and Nicorette both deliver nicotine, so neither is proven better at helping you quit. The patch is where they differ: Nicotinell lists a 24-hour patch in 21, 14 and 7 mg steps, while Nicorette sells a 16-hour InvisiPatch in 25, 15 and 10 mg. Pick the one whose wear time and price you will stick with for 12 weeks.

The two brands at a glance

Nicorette and Nicotinell are both over-the-counter NRT brands sold in the UK. The NHS describes the category plainly: NRTs “give your body smaller doses of nicotine to help ease cravings in a safer way,” and you can get them as “patches, gum, sprays, or lozenges” (NHS guide to stop-smoking products).

The same NHS page explains why nicotine is used this way: “nicotine on its own doesn’t cause cancer, lung disease, heart disease or stroke. It’s the other chemicals in cigarettes that cause most of the damage.” That is the reason both brands exist, and it is also why the choice between them is about convenience, not about one containing a better medicine.

A note on who sells what. A Morrisons listing for the Nicotinell patch names “Dr. Reddy’s Laboratories (UK) Ltd.” as the “PL Holder”, the holder of the product license. We could not open the Nicotinell brand site, which blocked our request, so we say nothing further about the company behind either brand name. If a pharmacist asks which one you want, you can answer on format and price.

The evidence supports the category, not a brand. The 2018 Cochrane review found that any form of NRT relative to control had a risk ratio of abstinence of 1.55 (95 percent confidence interval 1.49 to 1.61) (Cochrane review CD000146). Both brands sell forms in that category. We found no head-to-head trial of the two brands, so we do not rank them on effectiveness.

Patches: Nicotinell 24-hour vs Nicorette InvisiPatch 16-hour

The patch is the clearest difference between the two, and it comes straight from each product page.

Nicotinell patch and Nicorette InvisiPatch as described on retailer and brand pages (checked October 4, 2026)
Feature Nicotinell patch Nicorette InvisiPatch
Wear time 24 hours (“24 Hour Support”) Up to 16 hours; remove before sleep
Strengths 21 mg, 14 mg, 7 mg 25 mg, 15 mg, 10 mg
Who starts where Step 1 (21 mg) for more than 20 cigarettes a day 25 mg for 10 or more a day; 15 mg for fewer than 10
Step-down timing on the page Not stated on the listing we read Weeks 1 to 8 on 25 mg, weeks 9 to 10 on 15 mg, weeks 11 to 12 on 10 mg

For Nicotinell, the Morrisons listing states: “If you smoke more than 20 cigarettes per day, use Step 1 (21mg) patches. If you smoke less than 20 cigarettes per day or you have completed Step 1, use Step 2 (14mg) patches.” It adds: “Do not start the patch programme at Step 3.” The listing gives an average absorption rate of 21 mg of nicotine in 24 hours for the 21 mg patch (Nicotinell patch listing at Morrisons).

For Nicorette, the brand’s own InvisiPatch page says to “apply the patch to a clean, dry area of the skin in the morning and remove the patch 16 hours later.” It gives the 25 mg patch for people who smoke 10 or more cigarettes a day and lighter smokers a 15 mg start (Nicorette InvisiPatch page).

Illustration comparing a 24-hour patch wear time with a 16-hour wear time using two clock arcs
One brand’s patch is worn around the clock; the other is removed before bed.

The thresholds differ, so do not assume the same strength number means the same thing. A smoker of 15 a day starts on the top step with Nicorette but, going by the Morrisons listing, on the middle step with Nicotinell. If you are unsure, ask a pharmacist. We cover the wear-time question in depth in our guide to 16-hour vs 24-hour patches.

Gum and lozenges

Both brands sell gum and lozenges. The Morrisons listing says the Nicotinell range “includes TTS Patch, Medicated Chewing Gum and Lozenge.” We could not open a Nicotinell gum or lozenge leaflet, so we are not publishing Nicotinell gum or lozenge strengths or flavors.

The Nicorette UK homepage lists several of its own: Gum in Icy White, Fresh Mint, Original and Fruit in 2 mg packs of 105, Cools Lozenge in Icy Mint 2 mg in packs of 40 and 80, and Lozenge in Fruit 2 mg in packs of 40 and 80. That is a flavor list we can verify; the Nicotinell equivalent we cannot.

What you can do is apply the logic from any gum label: the strength you choose follows how soon you smoke after waking, and the product is used on a schedule, not whenever. Our ranked guide to the best nicotine gum brands walks through that logic on the US labels, and the same principle holds in the UK.

Formats only one brand sells

This is where Nicorette’s range is wider on the evidence we found. The Nicorette UK homepage lists a QuickMist mouth spray in Fresh Mint and Cool Berry (including a SmartTrack version), a nasal spray, an Inhalator in 15 mg and a Microtab in 2 mg packs of 100. We did not find those formats named on the Nicotinell listings we could open, but that is a limit of what we could read, not proof that Nicotinell sells none of them.

The Nicorette QuickMist page says it “starts to relieve cravings in 30 seconds” and is meant to be used “when needed, in place of cigarettes/e-cigarettes.” The NHS advises pairing a fast-acting form such as a mouth spray with a slow-acting patch: “combine a fast-acting source of nicotine, like a mouth spray with a slow-acting source of nicotine like a patch” (NHS guide). If you want that combination, check which brand’s spray and which brand’s patch your pharmacy stocks, since you can mix brands. Our guide to using a nicotine mouth spray correctly explains the technique.

If you prefer to see a patch applied, this clip from HSE Ireland shows how to use nicotine replacement patches.

The video is general guidance on applying patches and is not specific to one brand.

Price: what we could and could not compare

Prices move weekly and differ by shop, so a fair comparison needs the same shop, the same week and the same pack. We did not get that for both brands.

What we did read: on October 4, 2026 a Morrisons listing showed a 7-patch box of Nicotinell 21 mg Step 1 at an offer price of £10.20, down from £12.00, which works out at £1.46 per patch, with the offer stated to run to November 3, 2026. On the same day the Australian retailer Healthylife listed a 28-patch box of Nicotinell 7 mg Step 3 at $56.95 (Healthylife listing).

What we could not read: a comparable Nicorette price at the same shop. The Boots page blocked our request, and we found no Nicorette price on the brand’s own pages. So we will not say one brand is cheaper. The honest advice is to write down the price per week of treatment, not per box, at the shop you use. The NHS says many people “don’t use stop-smoking products for long enough” and advises at least 12 weeks, so the real bill is the 12-week total.

Illustration of a piggy bank with coins of different currencies representing money saved after quitting
Count the 12-week cost of NRT against what you spend on cigarettes.

This is where tracking helps. iQuit’s money-saved dashboard works in multiple currencies, so you can see your savings in pounds, euros or Australian dollars beside your NRT cost. If you are weighing cheaper own-label boxes, our piece on generic versus brand-name NRT covers that question.

Free or subsidized routes

In England the cheapest route is often free. The NHS page says your local Stop Smoking Service “is completely free and offers expert, professional support in person, online or even on the phone,” and that speaking to the service or a GP can help you choose the right product (NHS guide). We explain what to expect in free NRT on the NHS.

We could not verify Irish or Australian subsidy rules. The HSE website blocked our request and we could not read the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme listing for NRT. So we are not stating what is covered in Ireland or under the PBS. Ask your pharmacist or the national quitline what applies where you live before you pay full price.

Which one for which smoker

Because both brands contain nicotine and neither has head-to-head evidence, choose on the practical differences you can verify:

  • You want one patch for the whole day and night: Nicotinell’s 24-hour patch matches that, on its listing. If you wake with strong cravings, that may suit you.
  • You would rather not wear a patch overnight: Nicorette says to remove the InvisiPatch before you go to sleep. Whether that suits you personally is something to discuss with a pharmacist.
  • You want a fast-acting add-on: Nicorette lists a mouth spray, inhalator and microtab. You can still pair any brand’s patch with one.
  • You are price-led: compare cost per week of treatment at your shop, including any offers.
  • You are unsure: a pharmacist or Stop Smoking Service can match strength to your smoking, which matters more than the logo.

Whichever you buy, use it long enough. If the cravings return, the NHS advice is not to stop your support products early. Our overview of how every NRT type compares covers the combinations.

Pairing NRT with a tracker

NRT handles the physical craving; the habit part still needs a plan. iQuit is free to download and its craving log lets you record the trigger and intensity of each craving, so you can see whether it is the morning coffee or the commute that keeps breaking through. The SOS tools, including breathing exercises and craving surfing, cover the minutes before a patch or spray takes the edge off. Our ranked look at the best quit apps to pair with NRT compares other options.

The app does not treat or diagnose anything, and it does not replace advice from a pharmacist or doctor. Think of it as the place where you keep score while the medicine does its job.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Nicotinell better than Nicorette?

Neither is shown to be better. Both deliver nicotine, and we found no head-to-head trial. The Cochrane review supports NRT as a category with a risk ratio of 1.55 versus control. Choose on wear time, format and price (Cochrane CD000146; NHS).

What is the difference between Nicotinell and Nicorette patches?

Nicotinell’s patch is listed as a 24-hour patch in 21, 14 and 7 mg steps. Nicorette’s InvisiPatch is worn up to 16 hours in 25, 15 and 10 mg and removed before sleep (Morrisons listing; Nicorette UK InvisiPatch page, October 4, 2026).

Which patch do I need if I smoke 15 cigarettes a day?

The brands set different thresholds. Nicorette’s page says 10 or more a day can start on 25 mg. The Nicotinell listing says to use 21 mg if you smoke more than 20 a day and 14 mg if fewer. Ask a pharmacist to confirm (brand and retailer pages, October 4, 2026).

Can I mix Nicotinell and Nicorette?

Nothing we read forbids using different brands together, and the NHS advises combining a fast-acting form such as a mouth spray with a slow-acting patch. Check with a pharmacist before combining, and follow each product’s leaflet (NHS stop-smoking products guide).

How long should I use NRT?

The NHS says the general advice is to use NRTs and other products for at least 12 weeks, or longer if needed. Many people stop too soon, which can bring cravings back (NHS stop-smoking products guide).

Is NRT free on the NHS?

NHS Stop Smoking Services are described as completely free and can advise on products. This guide does not state what a specific NRT prescription costs, since we did not verify current prescription charges (NHS stop-smoking products guide).

Is Nicorette available in Ireland and Australia?

We could not verify local range or subsidies. The Nicorette UK site lists UK products, the HSE site blocked our request and we could not read the PBS listing. Check your pharmacist or national quitline (Nicorette UK site, October 4, 2026).

Track your NRT spend and cravings with iQuit

iQuit is free to download on Google Play and the App Store. Log each craving, use the SOS tools between doses, and watch your money saved in pounds, euros or Australian dollars add up while you finish your 12 weeks.

Download iQuit Free on Google Play Download on the App Store

Ready to start your smoke-free plan?

iQuit gives you a quit plan, craving SOS tools and a health timeline that shows your body recovering.