Quit smoking guides

Best Nicotine Lozenges 2026: Brands, Flavors, Price Compared

Shopping for the best nicotine lozenges is less about finding a magic brand and more about reading the label correctly. In the United States, name-brand and store-brand lozenges list the same active ingredient, nicotine polacrilex, in the same two strengths, so the real choices are format (regular or mini), flavor, pack size and price per piece. This guide compares what the DailyMed drug labels and Nicorette’s own online store show, so you can pick without paying for a logo.

Quick Answer: Lozenge labels from Nicorette, Equate, Up&Up and other brands all list nicotine polacrilex at 2 mg or 4 mg with the same 12-week schedule, so choose by flavor, size and price per piece. On Nicorette’s own US site in October 2026, its new-formula mini lozenges cost about 52 to 62 cents each depending on pack size.

What This Comparison Is Based On

Three kinds of source sit behind this guide. First, the FDA’s consumer page on quit-smoking products, which confirms that over-the-counter nicotine replacement therapy includes “Lozenges (also called ‘nicotine lozenges’). You use these products by dissolving them in your mouth.” Second, the Drug Facts labels on DailyMed, the National Library of Medicine’s label database, for Nicorette (Haleon), Equate (Walmart), Up&Up (Target) and other store brands. Third, Nicorette’s own online shop, for list prices.

Retailer shelf prices at Walmart, Target, CVS and Walgreens change often and are not included here, so check the shelf tag on the day you buy. Nicotinell, which is sold outside the United States and has its own labeling, is also outside the scope of this comparison.

The FDA also notes that over-the-counter NRTs “are approved for sale to people age 18 and older,” and the labels add: “if you are under 18 years of age, ask a doctor before use.”

The Best Nicotine Lozenges by Need

“Best” depends on what you need. This table shows what each label or shop page says.

Nicotine lozenge labels compared (DailyMed, 2026 versions)
Product Format Strengths on label Pack counts on label Flavor noted
Nicorette Cherry Peppermint (Haleon) Regular 2 mg and 4 mg 20-count vial; 3 vials of 27 Cherry peppermint
Equate Nicotine (Walmart) Regular 4 mg (this label version) 20-count and 40-count containers Wild berry
Up&Up Citrus Mini (Target) Mini 2 mg (this label version) 27-count container; cartons of 3 and 4 Citrus
Mini Nicotine (Walmart) Mini 4 mg (this label version) 27-count bottle; boxes of 1 and 4 Not stated on the label summary
Good Sense Nicotine (Perrigo) Regular 4 mg (this label version) 27-count container; carton of 4 Not stated on the label summary

Some labels list one strength and others list both. Brands often file separate labels for each strength, so do not read a single-strength listing as “only sold in that strength.” The point is the pattern: the active ingredient, the dosing directions and the pack sizes are close to identical across brands.

  • Best if you want the brand-name format options: Nicorette, which sells classic, mini and coated lozenges on its own site.
  • Best if you want to avoid paying for a logo: a store brand with the same Drug Facts directions, after you compare per-piece price on the shelf.
  • Best for discretion: a mini lozenge. Nicorette describes its minis as small tablets that dissolve slowly in the mouth and come in a portable dispenser.

Regular, Mini and Coated Lozenges

Nicorette’s online store lists three lozenge types: a classic lozenge in mint, a mini lozenge, and a coated lozenge in ice mint. In October 2026 the classic lozenge page showed no products, and the mini and coated pages showed 2 mg and 4 mg sizes. Flavor filters on the shop list ice mint, mint and peppermint.

Does a mini work differently? Compare the Drug Facts directions. The Up&Up mini label and the Equate regular label give the same instructions: use the 4 mg lozenge if you smoke your first cigarette within 30 minutes of waking, use the 2 mg lozenge if it is later, and follow a 12-week schedule. The label does not say that minis deliver a different dose, and no published source compares dissolve times. For a deeper explanation of dosing, see our guide to how to use nicotine lozenges.

Illustration of a shopper choosing between a regular lozenge pack and a mini lozenge dispenser at a pharmacy shelf
Regular and mini lozenges carry matching directions on their labels.

This short video from a cancer-center cessation service shows how people are taught to use a lozenge.

Store Brands: Same Active Ingredient

A DailyMed search for nicotine polacrilex lozenges returns dozens of labels. Store and generic names that appear include Equate (Walmart), Up&Up (Target), Walgreens, CVS, Rite Aid, Publix, Safeway, H-E-B, Good Sense (Perrigo), Leader (Cardinal Health), Quitine and Habitrol. These labels list nicotine polacrilex as the active ingredient, in 2 mg or 4 mg.

Where they differ is in the inactive ingredients, which is where flavor comes from. The Equate label lists “natural & artificial wild berry flavor” and menthol, while the Up&Up mini label lists lime oil and “natural and artificial citrus flavor.” If you have a sensitivity to an ingredient, read the label rather than assuming that two brands match.

The labels also share the safety text. Both warn: “do not use more than 5 lozenges in 6 hours. Do not use more than 20 lozenges per day.” Both tell you to ask a doctor before use if you have heart disease, a recent heart attack or an irregular heartbeat, along with high blood pressure not controlled with medication, a stomach ulcer or diabetes, and a history of seizures. For the full list, open the DailyMed label for the exact product you buy.

Which Strength: 2 mg or 4 mg

All the labels use the same 30-minute rule: “if you smoke your first cigarette more than 30 minutes after waking up, use 2 mg nicotine lozenge” and “if you smoke your first cigarette within 30 minutes of waking up, use 4 mg nicotine lozenge.” The detailed strength reasoning is in a separate guide, 2 mg vs 4 mg lozenges. The schedule is the same for both strengths:

  • Weeks 1 to 6: 1 lozenge every 1 to 2 hours.
  • Weeks 7 to 9: 1 lozenge every 2 to 4 hours.
  • Weeks 10 to 12: 1 lozenge every 4 to 8 hours.

The label also says “to improve your chances of quitting, use at least 9 lozenges per day for the first 6 weeks.” That number matters when you size a pack, because it sets how fast you will run through it.

Flavors and Mouth Sensitivity

Flavor is the easiest thing to compare and the least important to your quit odds, but a flavor you dislike is a reason to stop early. Across these labels and the Nicorette shop, the flavors on offer include mint, ice mint, peppermint, cherry peppermint, wild berry and citrus. The labels describe a sensation you should expect: “you may feel a warm or tingling sensation.”

Technique affects comfort more than brand does. The label says to let the lozenge dissolve slowly, to “minimize swallowing,” not to chew it and to “occasionally move the lozenge from one side of your mouth to the other.” It also says “do not eat or drink 15 minutes before using or while the lozenge is in your mouth,” so coffee and a lozenge do not mix. If you get mouth problems, the label’s advice is to stop use and ask a doctor.

Price per Piece and per Course

Prices change daily and differ by store, so treat this section as a worked example rather than a market survey. These are the list prices on Nicorette’s own US online shop in October 2026.

Nicorette online shop prices, US, October 2026 (per-piece figures are pack price divided by count)
Product and pack Price Price per piece
Mini lozenge (new formula), 20 count $12.49 about $0.62
Mini lozenge (new formula), 81 count $43.99 about $0.54
Mini lozenge (new formula), 101 count $52.49 about $0.52
Mini lozenge mint (older listing), 20 count $14.36 about $0.72
Coated ice mint lozenge, 20 count $14.36 about $0.72
Coated ice mint lozenge, 80 count $50.59 about $0.63

Two lessons follow. Bigger packs cost less per piece, and the listing changes the price: in this snapshot, the new-formula minis were the cheapest per piece on the site. Some of these items were marked “Out of stock” on the page. To estimate your own course cost, multiply the number of lozenges you expect to use by your per-piece price. At the label’s minimum of 9 a day for the first 6 weeks, that is 378 lozenges before you start tapering, so the pack size you pick changes the total noticeably.

Illustration of coins and a calculator beside a pack of lozenges to compare cost per piece
Divide the pack price by the count to compare brands fairly.

For where to find lower prices on other forms, see where to buy nicotine patches cheapest, and for gum prices see how much nicotine gum costs.

Lozenge or Gum for You

Choose a lozenge if you dislike chewing or have dental work that gum can pull on, and choose gum if you want something to do with your mouth. Our ranking of the best nicotine gum brands mirrors this guide, and the piece on the fastest-acting NRT compares how quickly each form works. If you are unsure which form fits, every NRT option compared covers patches, gum, lozenges, inhalers and sprays side by side.

The FDA states that “in conjunction with a behavioral program, NRTs have been found to increase the success of smoking cessation.” That is the useful way to read any brand ranking: the lozenge is half the plan and support is the other half.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which nicotine lozenge brand is best?

The Drug Facts labels for Nicorette, Equate, Up&Up and other store brands list the same active ingredient, nicotine polacrilex, in 2 mg or 4 mg with matching directions. Choose on flavor, mini or regular format, and price per piece rather than on the brand name (DailyMed, 2026).

Are mini lozenges the same as regular lozenges?

Their labels carry the same 12-week schedule and the same 30-minute strength rule. Nicorette describes its minis as small tablets in a portable dispenser. No published source compares dissolve times, so there is no evidence of a difference there (DailyMed; Nicorette).

Should I use the 2 mg or 4 mg lozenge?

The label says to use the 4 mg lozenge if you smoke your first cigarette within 30 minutes of waking up, and the 2 mg lozenge if you smoke it more than 30 minutes after waking up. Ask a doctor if you are unsure (DailyMed label).

How many nicotine lozenges can I use a day?

The label says not to use more than 5 lozenges in 6 hours or more than 20 lozenges per day. It also says to use at least 9 per day for the first 6 weeks to improve your chances of quitting (DailyMed label).

Are store-brand nicotine lozenges as good as Nicorette?

Store-brand labels list the same active ingredient, strengths and directions as the name-brand label. Their inactive ingredients and flavors differ, so check the label if you have a sensitivity. Taste and dissolve time are not covered by the labels (DailyMed, 2026).

How much do Nicorette lozenges cost per piece?

On Nicorette’s US online shop in October 2026, new-formula mini lozenges were $12.49 for 20 (about $0.62 each), $43.99 for 81 (about $0.54) and $52.49 for 101 (about $0.52). An older mint mini listing and the coated ice mint lozenge were $14.36 for 20, and coated ice mint was $50.59 for 80 (Nicorette).

Can I eat or drink while a lozenge is in my mouth?

No. The label says not to eat or drink 15 minutes before using a lozenge or while one is in your mouth. It also says to let it dissolve slowly, minimize swallowing and not chew it (DailyMed label).

Are nicotine lozenges sold over the counter?

Yes. The FDA lists nicotine lozenges among over-the-counter NRTs, which it says are approved for sale to people age 18 and older. The labels tell anyone under 18 to ask a doctor before use (FDA).

Track Your Lozenge Use With iQuit

A lozenge handles the physical side; iQuit helps with the habit side. Log each craving with its trigger and intensity, use SOS support when an urge spikes, and watch the real-time dashboard of days smoke-free, cigarettes avoided and money saved, with savings goals in your own currency. It supports cold turkey or gradual reduction and is free on Google Play and the App Store.

Download iQuit Free on Google Play Download on the App Store

Sources: FDA: quit-smoking products, DailyMed: nicotine polacrilex lozenge labels, Nicorette: lozenge shop.

Ready to start your smoke-free plan?

iQuit gives you a quit plan, craving SOS tools and a health timeline that shows your body recovering.